Convert to .FPL to use on Garmin 430 - oswaldocostaneto - 17.07.2017
Hi,
I'm new to the forum and what motivated me to come here was to have discovered the wonderful routeconverter tool.
As I'm a Garmin 430 operator, I need to convert my routes created in .GPX to .FPL and this was the reason I discovered the routeconverter.
However, when attempting to place the converted .fpl file inside the Garmin memory card (using Flighplan Migrator), there is an error message stating that the .fpl file is not a valid .fpl file, so it does not complete the import operation .
Has anyone had a similar situation?
Is it possible to overcome this error?
Oswaldo.
RE: Convert to .FPL to use on Garmin 430 - kumo - 18.07.2017
Hi Oswaldo - welcome here!
May you put a valid *.fpl file and a invalid *.fpl into a *.zip file and post it here as attachment?
With both valid and invalid files Christian may be able to compare them to solve the issue.
RE: Convert to .FPL to use on Garmin 430 - oswaldocostaneto - 20.07.2017
Hi,
Ok, I get it.
Below I'll put the code of the two files ...
It is worth mentioning that the error happens when I try to import the converted file (GPX to FPL) through the Fligh Plan Migrator (Garmin program) into an original Garmin memory card.
This is the .FPL file that worked on Flighplan Migrator. This .FPL file was generated by Jeppsen's FliteStar program and worked perfectly with the export in Flightplan Migrator:
Code: <?xml version="1.0" encoding="utf-8"?>
<flight-plan xmlns="http://www8.garmin.com/xmlschemas/FlightPlan/v1">
<created>2017-07-04T13:48:31Z</created>
<waypoint-table>
<waypoint>
<identifier>SBBE</identifier>
<type>AIRPORT</type>
<country-code>SB</country-code>
<lat>-1.384722</lat>
<lon>-48.4788889</lon>
<comment></comment>
<elevation>17.0688</elevation>
</waypoint>
<waypoint>
<identifier>WP1</identifier>
<type>USER WAYPOINT</type>
<country-code></country-code>
<lat>-0.386506</lat>
<lon>-48.2964492</lon>
<comment></comment>
</waypoint>
<waypoint>
<identifier>WP2</identifier>
<type>USER WAYPOINT</type>
<country-code></country-code>
<lat>-0.238825</lat>
<lon>-48.3293291</lon>
<comment></comment>
</waypoint>
<waypoint>
<identifier>WP3</identifier>
<type>USER WAYPOINT</type>
<country-code></country-code>
<lat>-0.289749</lat>
<lon>-48.0839945</lon>
<comment></comment>
</waypoint>
<waypoint>
<identifier>WP4</identifier>
<type>USER WAYPOINT</type>
<country-code></country-code>
<lat>-0.378867</lat>
<lon>-47.8437194</lon>
<comment></comment>
</waypoint>
<waypoint>
<identifier>WP5</identifier>
<type>USER WAYPOINT</type>
<country-code></country-code>
<lat>-0.508723</lat>
<lon>-47.6186177</lon>
<comment></comment>
</waypoint>
<waypoint>
<identifier>WP6</identifier>
<type>USER WAYPOINT</type>
<country-code></country-code>
<lat>-0.506177</lat>
<lon>-47.9904133</lon>
<comment></comment>
</waypoint>
<waypoint>
<identifier>SBBE1</identifier>
<type>AIRPORT</type>
<country-code>SB</country-code>
<lat>-1.384722</lat>
<lon>-48.4788889</lon>
<comment></comment>
<elevation>17.0688</elevation>
</waypoint>
</waypoint-table>
<route>
<route-name>SBBE/SBBE</route-name>
<route-description>C:\Users\operador\Desktop\ART - PATNAV 1.rpk</route-description>
<flight-plan-index>1</flight-plan-index>
<route-point>
<waypoint-identifier>SBBE</waypoint-identifier>
<waypoint-type>AIRPORT</waypoint-type>
<waypoint-country-code>SB</waypoint-country-code>
</route-point>
<route-point>
<waypoint-identifier>WP1</waypoint-identifier>
<waypoint-type>USER WAYPOINT</waypoint-type>
<waypoint-country-code></waypoint-country-code>
</route-point>
<route-point>
<waypoint-identifier>WP2</waypoint-identifier>
<waypoint-type>USER WAYPOINT</waypoint-type>
<waypoint-country-code></waypoint-country-code>
</route-point>
<route-point>
<waypoint-identifier>WP3</waypoint-identifier>
<waypoint-type>USER WAYPOINT</waypoint-type>
<waypoint-country-code></waypoint-country-code>
</route-point>
<route-point>
<waypoint-identifier>WP4</waypoint-identifier>
<waypoint-type>USER WAYPOINT</waypoint-type>
<waypoint-country-code></waypoint-country-code>
</route-point>
<route-point>
<waypoint-identifier>WP5</waypoint-identifier>
<waypoint-type>USER WAYPOINT</waypoint-type>
<waypoint-country-code></waypoint-country-code>
</route-point>
<route-point>
<waypoint-identifier>WP6</waypoint-identifier>
<waypoint-type>USER WAYPOINT</waypoint-type>
<waypoint-country-code></waypoint-country-code>
</route-point>
<route-point>
<waypoint-identifier>SBBE</waypoint-identifier>
<waypoint-type>AIRPORT</waypoint-type>
<waypoint-country-code>SB</waypoint-country-code>
</route-point>
</route>
</flight-plan>
Below is the code generated by Routeconverter from a .GPX file (created by specific applications for this purpose). However, it did not work. Some type of error occurs in the code, an error in which Flightplan Migrator does not allow the import of the .conf file generated by Routeconverter:
Code: <?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8" standalone="yes"?>
<flight-plan xmlns="http://www8.garmin.com/xmlschemas/FlightPlan/v1">
<created>2017-07-04T13:48:31Z</created>
<waypoint-table>
<waypoint>
<identifier>SBBE</identifier>
<type>AIRPORT</type>
<country-code>SB</country-code>
<lat>-1.3847222</lat>
<lon>-48.4788889</lon>
<comment>SBBE; Val de Cans</comment>
</waypoint>
<waypoint>
<identifier>WP1</identifier>
<type>USER WAYPOINT</type>
<country-code></country-code>
<lat>-0.55</lat>
<lon>-48.0</lon>
<comment>WP1</comment>
</waypoint>
<waypoint>
<identifier>WP2</identifier>
<type>USER WAYPOINT</type>
<country-code></country-code>
<lat>-0.349996</lat>
<lon>-48.0</lon>
<comment>WP2</comment>
</waypoint>
<waypoint>
<identifier>WP3</identifier>
<type>USER WAYPOINT</type>
<country-code></country-code>
<lat>-0.349996</lat>
<lon>-47.96666</lon>
<comment>WP3</comment>
</waypoint>
<waypoint>
<identifier>WP4</identifier>
<type>USER WAYPOINT</type>
<country-code></country-code>
<lat>-0.55</lat>
<lon>-47.96666</lon>
<comment>WP4</comment>
</waypoint>
<waypoint>
<identifier>WP5</identifier>
<type>USER WAYPOINT</type>
<country-code></country-code>
<lat>-0.55</lat>
<lon>-47.933315</lon>
<comment>WP5</comment>
</waypoint>
<waypoint>
<identifier>WP6</identifier>
<type>USER WAYPOINT</type>
<country-code></country-code>
<lat>-0.349996</lat>
<lon>-47.933315</lon>
<comment>WP6</comment>
</waypoint>
<waypoint>
<identifier>SBBE</identifier>
<type>AIRPORT</type>
<country-code>SB</country-code>
<lat>-1.3847222</lat>
<lon>-48.4788889</lon>
<comment>SBBE; Val de Cans</comment>
</waypoint>
</waypoint-table>
<route>
<route-name>SBBE/SBBE</route-name>
<route-description>C:\Users\operador\Desktop\ART - PATNAV 1.rpk</route-description>
<flight-plan-index>1</flight-plan-index>
<route-point>
<waypoint-identifier>SBBE</waypoint-identifier>
<waypoint-type>AIRPORT</waypoint-type>
<waypoint-country-code>SB</waypoint-country-code>
</route-point>
<route-point>
<waypoint-identifier>WP1</waypoint-identifier>
<waypoint-type>USER WAYPOINT</waypoint-type>
<waypoint-country-code></waypoint-country-code>
</route-point>
<route-point>
<waypoint-identifier>WP2</waypoint-identifier>
<waypoint-type>USER WAYPOINT</waypoint-type>
<waypoint-country-code></waypoint-country-code>
</route-point>
<route-point>
<waypoint-identifier>WP3</waypoint-identifier>
<waypoint-type>USER WAYPOINT</waypoint-type>
<waypoint-country-code></waypoint-country-code>
</route-point>
<route-point>
<waypoint-identifier>WP4</waypoint-identifier>
<waypoint-type>USER WAYPOINT</waypoint-type>
<waypoint-country-code></waypoint-country-code>
</route-point>
<route-point>
<waypoint-identifier>WP5</waypoint-identifier>
<waypoint-type>USER WAYPOINT</waypoint-type>
<waypoint-country-code></waypoint-country-code>
</route-point>
<route-point>
<waypoint-identifier>WP6</waypoint-identifier>
<waypoint-type>USER WAYPOINT</waypoint-type>
<waypoint-country-code></waypoint-country-code>
</route-point>
<route-point>
<waypoint-identifier>SBBE</waypoint-identifier>
<waypoint-type>AIRPORT</waypoint-type>
<waypoint-country-code>SB</waypoint-country-code>
</route-point>
</route>
</flight-plan>
I have tried to figure out exactly where the error is, but I have not made a donation yet, and the program has limited me the creation of .FPL files, so now I can not do anything. I really need a program that converts gpx to fpl and imports the generated file using Flightplan Migrator (freeware from Garmin). I will definitely make a donation if I succeed in doing this.
RE: Convert to .FPL to use on Garmin 430 - kumo - 21.07.2017
Hi Oswaldo,
below you'll find a file in a *.zip archive. It contains all the data of your 'issue' file except the sequence
from the first line and except all the blank lines. May you please check it out and report the result?
test.zip (Size: 660 bytes / Downloads: 777)
RE: Convert to .FPL to use on Garmin 430 - oswaldocostaneto - 21.07.2017
Hi,
Thanks for the answer.
However, the "standalone" line has no relation to the problem. I was able to check this when I tried to use Flighplan Migrator.
When trying to understand where Routeconverter's compatibility problem comes from with Flightplan Migrator, I found the following:
Code: <comment>SBBE; Val de Cans</comment>
Flightplan Migrator does not recognize the ";" And the letters without CAPS LOCK.
And also the following:
The code has two equal <waypoints>, which means a flight leaving and returning to an aerodrome.
Code: <waypoint>
<identifier>SBBE</identifier>
<type>AIRPORT</type>
<country-code>SB</country-code>
<lat>-1.3847222</lat>
<lon>-48.4788889</lon>
<comment></comment>
</waypoint>
<waypoint>
<identifier>SBBE</identifier>
<type>AIRPORT</type>
<country-code>SB</country-code>
<lat>-1.3847222</lat>
<lon>-48.4788889</lon>
<comment></comment>
</waypoint>
After modifying the <identifier> of the second <waypoint> and removing the <comment>, Flightplan Migrator seamlessly imported the file without errors. The code remained as follows:
Code: <?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8" standalone="yes"?>
<flight-plan xmlns="http://www8.garmin.com/xmlschemas/FlightPlan/v1">
<created>2017-07-04T13:48:31Z</created>
<waypoint-table>
<waypoint>
<identifier>SBBE</identifier>
<type>AIRPORT</type>
<country-code>SB</country-code>
<lat>-1.3847222</lat>
<lon>-48.4788889</lon>
<comment>SBBE</comment>
</waypoint>
<waypoint>
<identifier>WP1</identifier>
<type>USER WAYPOINT</type>
<country-code></country-code>
<lat>-0.55</lat>
<lon>-48.0</lon>
<comment>WP1</comment>
</waypoint>
<waypoint>
<identifier>WP2</identifier>
<type>USER WAYPOINT</type>
<country-code></country-code>
<lat>-0.349996</lat>
<lon>-48.0</lon>
<comment>WP2</comment>
</waypoint>
<waypoint>
<identifier>WP3</identifier>
<type>USER WAYPOINT</type>
<country-code></country-code>
<lat>-0.349996</lat>
<lon>-47.96666</lon>
<comment>WP3</comment>
</waypoint>
<waypoint>
<identifier>WP4</identifier>
<type>USER WAYPOINT</type>
<country-code></country-code>
<lat>-0.55</lat>
<lon>-47.96666</lon>
<comment>WP4</comment>
</waypoint>
<waypoint>
<identifier>WP5</identifier>
<type>USER WAYPOINT</type>
<country-code></country-code>
<lat>-0.55</lat>
<lon>-47.933315</lon>
<comment>WP5</comment>
</waypoint>
<waypoint>
<identifier>WP6</identifier>
<type>USER WAYPOINT</type>
<country-code></country-code>
<lat>-0.349996</lat>
<lon>-47.933315</lon>
<comment>WP6</comment>
</waypoint>
<waypoint>
<identifier>SBBE1</identifier>
<type>AIRPORT</type>
<country-code>SB</country-code>
<lat>-1.3847222</lat>
<lon>-48.4788889</lon>
<comment>SBBE</comment>
</waypoint>
</waypoint-table>
<route>
<route-name>SBBE/SBBE</route-name>
<route-description>C:\Users\operador\Desktop\ART - PATNAV 1.rpk</route-description>
<flight-plan-index>1</flight-plan-index>
<route-point>
<waypoint-identifier>SBBE</waypoint-identifier>
<waypoint-type>AIRPORT</waypoint-type>
<waypoint-country-code>SB</waypoint-country-code>
</route-point>
<route-point>
<waypoint-identifier>WP1</waypoint-identifier>
<waypoint-type>USER WAYPOINT</waypoint-type>
<waypoint-country-code></waypoint-country-code>
</route-point>
<route-point>
<waypoint-identifier>WP2</waypoint-identifier>
<waypoint-type>USER WAYPOINT</waypoint-type>
<waypoint-country-code></waypoint-country-code>
</route-point>
<route-point>
<waypoint-identifier>WP3</waypoint-identifier>
<waypoint-type>USER WAYPOINT</waypoint-type>
<waypoint-country-code></waypoint-country-code>
</route-point>
<route-point>
<waypoint-identifier>WP4</waypoint-identifier>
<waypoint-type>USER WAYPOINT</waypoint-type>
<waypoint-country-code></waypoint-country-code>
</route-point>
<route-point>
<waypoint-identifier>WP5</waypoint-identifier>
<waypoint-type>USER WAYPOINT</waypoint-type>
<waypoint-country-code></waypoint-country-code>
</route-point>
<route-point>
<waypoint-identifier>WP6</waypoint-identifier>
<waypoint-type>USER WAYPOINT</waypoint-type>
<waypoint-country-code></waypoint-country-code>
</route-point>
<route-point>
<waypoint-identifier>SBBE</waypoint-identifier>
<waypoint-type>AIRPORT</waypoint-type>
<waypoint-country-code>SB</waypoint-country-code>
</route-point>
</route>
</flight-plan>
In short:
I noticed that Flightplan Migrator does not accept the characters:
> Lowercase letters;
> ";" "," And other special characters
> Space between words
So, in order for the ".FPL" file generated by Routeconverter to be accepted by Flightplan Migrator, you must:
> There are no two or more waypoints with equal <identifier>
> In the <identifier> and <comments> fields there should only be letters (in the upper case) and numbers, with no spaces or special characters
> In the <route-name> field same thing as the previous item
However, having to enter the code to correct those minor details is bad for the purpose of the program, which should make things easier, including because other pilots will use the tool and not everyone has the intimacy with those codes.
Can there be any solution to this case?
RE: Convert to .FPL to use on Garmin 430 - routeconverter - 22.07.2017
(21.07.2017, 21:41)oswaldocostaneto Wrote: So, in order for the ".FPL" file generated by Routeconverter to be accepted by Flightplan Migrator, you must:
> There are no two or more waypoints with equal <identifier>
> In the <identifier> and <comments> fields there should only be letters (in the upper case) and numbers, with no spaces or special characters
> In the <route-name> field same thing as the previous item
Thank you very much for the detailed analysis.
(21.07.2017, 21:41)oswaldocostaneto Wrote: However, having to enter the code to correct those minor details is bad for the purpose of the program, which should make things easier, including because other pilots will use the tool and not everyone has the intimacy with those codes.
Definitely.
(21.07.2017, 21:41)oswaldocostaneto Wrote: Can there be any solution to this case?
Of course, let's start.
I'm wondering that you're to first to report problems with the format. It seems Flightplan Migrator is a bit more picky than the Garmin devices that read .fpl files. Is that correct?
RE: Convert to .FPL to use on Garmin 430 - oswaldocostaneto - 22.07.2017
hi,
Quote:Of course, let's start.
I'm wondering that you're to first to report problems with the format. It seems Flightplan Migrator is a bit more picky than the Garmin devices that read .fpl files. Is that correct?
Yes, I believe there was no one else on the forum who was looking for solutions to Routeconverter integration with Flightplan Migrator, so I looked to see if there was any topic and I was not successful.
I think Flightplan Migrator is definitely more demanding than other programs that read .FPL files (including other Garmin devices).
The process of trying to figure out the incompatibilities between Routeconverter and Flightplan Migrator made me create 10 .FPL files by Routeconverter, and from what I saw in the forum, the limit for creating .FPL files is 10, until a donation is made ). So I can no longer create .FPL files, even if it's to test if it's going to work on the plane.
Since the creator of the software was interested in this post , can you tell if there is a real integration (of an easy way) between Routeconverter and Flightplan Migrator?
RE: Convert to .FPL to use on Garmin 430 - routeconverter - 22.07.2017
(22.07.2017, 21:05)oswaldocostaneto Wrote: The process of trying to figure out the incompatibilities between Routeconverter and Flightplan Migrator made me create 10 .FPL files by Routeconverter, and from what I saw in the forum, the limit for creating .FPL files is 10, until a donation is made ). So I can no longer create .FPL files, even if it's to test if it's going to work on the plane.[/font][/size][/color][/font][/size][/color]
Please register at the RouteConverter server - i.e. by sending me an error report via Help/Send Error Report... - and send me the username you've been using. I'll raise the limit then.
(22.07.2017, 21:05)oswaldocostaneto Wrote:
Since the creator of the software was interested in this post , can you tell if there is a real integration (of an easy way) between Routeconverter and Flightplan Migrator?
Originally, the .fpl format was developed for a Garmin G1000 and AirNavPro. I've got positive reports for a Garmin G3X and some more devices and planing softwares.
RE: Convert to .FPL to use on Garmin 430 - oswaldocostaneto - 22.07.2017
Okay, I just did this.
Is there any future plan to convert .FPL files for integration with Flightplan Migrator?
If not, is it possible that I, by my own efforts, can change Routeconverter's internal settings so that the generated .FPL file is in the condition that Flightplan Migrator can accept? I know it's complicated, but without that I can not import the file to my gps from the plane. It would be wonderful if possible.
RE: Convert to .FPL to use on Garmin 430 - routeconverter - 23.07.2017
(22.07.2017, 23:40)oswaldocostaneto Wrote: [color=#212121][size=medium][font=arial, sans-serif]Okay, I just did this.
Is there any future plan to convert .FPL files for integration with Flightplan Migrator?
Not yet. But if there is demand - and a donation: let's start.
(22.07.2017, 23:40)oswaldocostaneto Wrote: If not, is it possible that I, by my own efforts, can change Routeconverter's internal settings so that the generated .FPL file is in the condition that Flightplan Migrator can accept? I know it's complicated, [..]
It is possible but I guess I'm a lot faster with that ;-)
|